Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

finally 2017 (a look ahead)

Leave a comment

Don’t think I’m late to the party on this one, I am aware that it has been 2017 for many weeks now. (Despite the fact that I recently wrote 2002 as the date.) That’s neither here nor there. What is here and there is the fact that I took an impromptu blogging break – as is wont to happen from time to time. Which is why I’m just now getting to posting about my upcoming year. Last year I looked ahead and focused on these three questions:

  1. What’s working?
  2. What will I improve upon?
  3. How will I specifically work to make these improvements?

In order to answer the first question I’ll take a look back on 2016, a nice way to do that is my reverse bucket list. Not familiar with the concept? Just click that link back there (reverse bucket list) to see my take on it. All in all 2016 was pretty bad ass. 

What’s working?
Looking back on 2016, what has contributed to my success and the realization of my goals? This past year I started bullet journaling. Not familiar with the process? Look no further than this video:

Bullet journaling saved my life. Okay, that was hyperbolic, but seriously guys, SO AWESOME. I will be forever grateful to Katie for introducing me to this, as well as gifting me with my very first ever bullet journal. Bullet journaling as been a way for me to organize my thoughts and actions through an extremely simple and clear method. I keep a very simple and classic bullet journal. There is so much one can do with a bullet journal, and many people put a lot of craftfull time into theirs. For me the simplicity of my journal enables me to easily keep track of the intimate intricacies that is my life.

What will I improve upon?
Fitness took up 66% of my improvement goals last year, and will take up 100% of this year’s. I’m going to intertwine the continued improvement of my eating habits and consistency of my workouts into one fitness goal. In 2017 I hope to improve my over all fitness. I plan to devise a way to measure this in order to see if/how/when I reach this goal, but that system has yet to be decided – stay tuned.

How will I specifically work to make these improvements?
I plan to make this simple. Simplicity will hopefully lead to success, though won’t necessarily make success easy. Through a calculated trial and error process I hope to discover what workout routine fits best with my current lifestyle – using all the tools in my toolbox. Simultaneously I plan to plan far more what and when I eat. Through planning what to eat (and when to eat it) in advance it will be easier to eat more nutritiously when the time comes. Additionally, avoiding purchasing unhealthy items is a surefire way to avoid my eventual consumption of them.

As my bullet journal has helped me organize so much of my life I’m going to use this tool in my fitness efforts. Whether this means a habit tracking page, workout tracking, or what have you. After some internet searching I will surely have found the best way to add my fitness goals to my bullet journal.

img_2132

It’s all wide open from here.

signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

