Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

book of june: tumbling turner sisters

Leave a comment

My most favorite author whom I’ve ever babysat for has done it again! As I’m sure you recall one of Juliette Fay’s previous books, The Shortest Way Home,  has also been featured on the blog, and as her newest novel was released this month I just had to give it a read!

FullSizeRender (1)

Now I don’t know if it’s my poor memory, but this book seemed funnier than the others! Who knew Mrs. Fay had such witty sentence composition, such as:

“At thirteen, a girl just isn’t prepared for the kind of unfairness this world is ready to hand out every single day of the week.”

and

“Everyone likes to think they might be appealing to someone, somewhere, and hopes that person has all of his mental faculties, most of his teeth, and might even be kind and lovable, too.”

and

“Like a bag full of cats, the idea of marriage never seemed to keep a permanent shape, so I was wary to go blindly down the aisle to my possible doom.”

Going into this I had no idea how funny it would be. I’m not sure if it’s because of our employer/employee relationship, or the fact that we mostly discussed bedtime routines, massive LEGO projects and any bowel movement or small injury that may have occurred that evening…I just hadn’t realized how funny Juliette Fay is until now.

I’ve always really liked historical fiction, though I forget that I like it. So it was a wonderful surprise how much I enjoyed this book. Seeing as I was a little skeptical about the historical fiction thing going in. (See previous comment about how forgetful I am).

Like I said, Juliette Fay has done it again, definitely read this book! I won’t tell you who my favorite sister is, you’ll have to decide that on your own, and when you do feel free to comment below.

signature

Leave a Reply

