Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

university in sweden

2 Comments

Getting accepted to university in Sweden is a process. Like any other application process it involves forms and deadlines. And in my case standardized testing. Step one for me was to take what I like to call the Swedish version of the SATs, högskoleprovet. Directly translated högskoleprovet means The University Test, aptly named in my opinion.

Okay, now that I think things over step one was to send in all my papers and information about my previous studies in the US to the Swedish university administrations office. In Sweden you apply for all university studies through one website and one application process. It would be as if every university in the US took the common app and only the common app. So, all my information had to first be sent in and processed.

Then I took the test. In Sweden there are three sections: Swedish, Mathematics and English. As a native English speaker I was naturally stoked about the English sections. Though initially less stoked about answering math questions in Swedish…and basically all the Swedish questions in general.

FullSizeRender (1)

Okay, now that I think things over again I realize that between sending in my information and taking högskoleprovet I needed to learn Swedish. And, as you recall, I recently completed the high school level Swedish classes. Learning Swedish certainly helped with the test taking thing.

To summarize:

  • Step 1: Send in information regarding previous studies in the US
  • Step 2: Learn Swedish
  • Step 3: Take Swedish SATs
  • Step 4: Apply!

After having completed steps 1-3 all that was left to do was apply! This past fall I completed the process (the relatively easy compared to the process in the US) of applying to university in Sweden. It basically involved clicking a few buttons on the computer. In Sweden you can apply for multiple programs, but you have to prioritize them. So if you’re accepted to the program you list as your top priority, your application is withdrawn from the other programs. As was the case for me, as lo and behold: I was accepted!

Next step: learn stuff.

signature

2 thoughts on “university in sweden

  1. Pingback: looking back: 2015 resolutions | Enjoy Not Knowing

  2. Pingback: half way to 30 | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

