Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

book of november: the girl with the dragon tattoo

Leave a comment

Stieg Larsson wrote a trilogy. You may be familiar with the books and subsequent Hollywood movie. I hope you’re also familiar with the Swedish trilogy of films and pre-existing mini-series.

I had tried to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo when it was a hot item, but that didn’t go so well. I even bought the book before I saw all those movies. However, the beginning was a little hard to get through. I mean it was interesting, and now that I’ve read it, I’m so glad I did, but the first time around I took a little break at around page 60. This time things went a lot better.

FullSizeRender (5)

Usually I try to read the book before seeing the film, but in this instance I watched the Swedish films, then the Hollywood version and then read the book. As I’m sure you can tell by the photo above I read the book in English. I’ve heard rumors that the translation could have been better, and I vaguely recall the translator saying he wish he had more time to do a better job. To be honest, at times I did get a good chuckle from the translation. This is probably partially because I now know Swedish to some degree and can clearly see what the initial Swedish would have been.

This book definitely comes highly recommended. I’m definitely reading the next book (The Girl Who Played with Fire) only this time in Swedish. Flickan som lekte med elden.

Side bar: Did you know that in Swedish they only capitalize the first letter of
book and article titles? Fun fact for you on this fine Monday. Also, days of
the week are not capitalized in Swedish. That was the last fun fact for today.

I’m excited to see if I enjoy the book more in its native Swedish. I’m testing a theory on whether or not a book is usually better in the native language of the author. I’ll keep you posted.

signature

Leave a Reply

