Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

book of july: yes please

Leave a comment

You guys know Amy Poehler right?

Yes Please

I’m sure I don’t need to be introducing her here, so if you’re not familiar give a little Google and I’m sure your memory will be refreshed. Amy Poehler is hilarious, and this obviously shines through in her writing.

I got the audiobook of Poehler’s book. It really is fun to listen to comedians read their own work. You really get that little extra from listening to the audiobook. Plus there are fun guests. However, while listening to the book I happened upon a hard copy at the airport book store. Man did that book look fun! In terms of books by funny people I really prefer listening to the audio version, for reasons previously mentioned. Though  now, for the first time, I was a little sad that I hadn’t gotten the hard copy. I did leaf through almost the whole book while waiting for my flight though, much to the chagrin of the book store employee, so I feel that I almost got the full experience.

What I’m trying to say is when you read this book (and it really should be when – Poehler is hilarious) you can go either route, audiobook or real book – I’d even go so far as to say to go both! Plus, in the audio version the final chapter is read live at the UCB studios in LA, and is just so awesome it hurts.

And now follow my thoughts on Yes Please:

Without giving too much away I’d like to talk about how Amy believes in time travel. She’s got me totally convinced. Poehler also makes a tree ring metaphor that is out of this world, and she writes the book honestly. Honest is funny, so – why not? I love the parts about her phone dependence, because, well ME TOO! And there are some great quotables, like “Getting older is awesome” and “I’m always just where I need to be.”

I do have a question though, Poehler says to “Be here now, as the book says” – but…what book? Amy, whatchu talkin’ ’bout? I like the sentiment though. Maybe the yoga book. I got lost in Google land when I was looking for it, so help a sister out if you know what she means.

My last thought is that when Amy writes about middle age she jokes about looking forward to eating dinner before 6:30pm, or when you call the cops on your next door neighbors when they’re having a party. This apparenly means I’m already there, seeing as I regularly want to eat dinner at 5 and hate my upstairs neighbor for the loud obnoxious music he plays.

Except when it’s ABBA, ‘cuz who doesn’t like some ABBA at full volume at 10am on a Sunday.

signature

Leave a Reply

