Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

april april

Leave a comment

Here in Sweden you don’t shout “April Fools!” when you trick someone today. You smirk and quietly state “april, april”. People in Sweden don’t shout much. That’s how you spot the Americans in Sweden; the loudest people in the room – and their clothes. I’m American, so I can say that. Also, in Swedish the months aren’t capitalized, some knowledge for you. Now, I haven’t played any tricks today (yet) but last year I played a pretty good one.

I posted as my status that I was moving back to the Greater Boston Area. Man, I thought to my self, I am hilarious. Apparently not everyone thought so. Once I outed that it was an April Fool’s joke people were not pleased. One friend in particular got pretty upset about it. Katie*, please accept another official apology, I did not set out to get your hopes up and then allow them to come crashing to the earth, although that may be what happened. I’m sorry.

*Name changed to protect identity, I always change
all the names on my blog. In case you didn’t already
know. May name may not even be Meredith. You’ll
never know. Another piece of knowledge for you.

Anywho, last year my boss played a pretty good April Fool’s joke. She sent an e-mail saying the head of the school had told her that we were going to professionally ventilate two wings of the pre-school. Therefore we would need to vacate the premises between noon and 5pm Monday through Thursday. We would need to relocate about 80 children. For five hours. I remember reading the e-mail, laughing out loud, and then replying that I would be on vacation, so my colleagues would have to make the call on what to do. I totally bought it. And I was totally ecstatic I would not be there. They have a word for that in Swedish: skadeglädje, which basically means thinking things are funny when harm is done to others. Turns out the wings did not need to be professionally ventilated, and my colleagues were not forced to vacate the building. Too bad.

ClosedThis year the headmistresses went on vacation, so no alarming e-mail in our in boxes. I was thinking we should have closed the pre-school today. As a joke of course. To pull one over on them for a change. But realized the back-lash on that one would have been pretty big. I’m also not convinced I could have gotten my colleagues in on it.

Although today hasn’t been a very tricky one for me, you all should definitely keep your eyes peeled.

signature

Leave a Reply

