Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

get a swedish passport

1 Comment

Now, I may have let the cat out of the bag a little on this one. News of my citizenship was published most recently this summer, following that I put up a picture during Sweden’s latest elections.

passports

While not explicitly stated at the time, it could have been deduced, that both of those passports are mine. You betcha! They are. I’ve officially crossed off number seven on my 30 before 30 list. Per our recent trip to Iceland it seemed like a good idea to get the document.

Travel within the Scandinavian countries actually doesn’t require a passport, other certified types of ID are also accepted. Such as a EU driver’s licence or a government issued ID card. I do have an EU driver’s licence, so my initial plan was to use that for travel between Sweden and Iceland this summer. But then I was reading up on being a dual citizen. Both on the US governmental and Swedish governmental websites it states that dual citizens must ALWAYS use the passport issued by country of entrance and exit, when entering and exiting said country. I’m pretty sure it’s also all caps, bold and underlined on the websites.

Not wanting to take any risks it seemed worth the 50 bucks to get the Swedish passport before exiting and entering Sweden. I mean all caps, bold and underline is serious, right?

signature

One thought on “get a swedish passport

  1. Pingback: half way to 30 | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

