Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

four. run a marathon

2 Comments

This is another item on my list that I, unfortunately, haven’t completed.

The incompletion of this item was a really difficult decision for me to make, but in the end I believe the right one. I signed up for the Stockholm Marathon, which occurred yesterday. I really enjoyed the training at first. My brother was here visiting, and it had been so long since I had run regularly, it was great getting into it again. Then, April and May rolled around. About mid April I started to get really busy. Guys, I’m saying R.E.A.L.L.Y. busy. I’m of the opinion that there’s exactly enough time for the important things in life. But, what it came down to for me, was that it was much more important for me to be happy than for me to complete my training.

A combination of international travel, getting a couple poorly timed colds, over use injuries in my ankles and hip, more intensive studying, and the busiest time of the year at work just made it unenjoyable to train on top of all that. What it really came down to in the end, as I wavered between resting until marathon day and trying to get in a few more runs, was the fact that my hip just wasn’t up to it. I couldn’t physically run for more than two hours. This made attempting to do so very unenjoyable. I took a long hard look at what I was prioritizing, and decided not to prioritize running. I needed to let my body heal and let my mind rest before I embarked on this task again.

photo (2)

A part of me wanted to try it out. Especially come race weekend. Just go and see how it goes. But I know myself too well for that. If I had gone, and gotten my number, excitedly awaiting the start with thousands of other runners, I wouldn’t have been able to stop. Even if my body was telling me to. Even if my hip hurt more than I imagined possible, I would have continued. That would have been a poor choice, inevitably resulting in more severe injury.

I love running. Like really love it. I think it’s one of the best forms of exercise, and we as humans have been doing it for a long, long, looooong time. I still hope to complete a marathon during my time here on earth, I just had to make the difficult choice of not completing that goal before my 25th birthday. (30 before 30, anyone??)

To be honest, I’m satisfied with the choice I’ve made. upset that I lost that entry fee, and didn’t reach my personal goal. But satisfied none the less.

Onwards and upwards.

signature

2 thoughts on “four. run a marathon

  1. Pingback: a resolutions update | Enjoy Not Knowing

  2. Pingback: my resolutions – in a timely manner | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

