Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

fourteen. get a dog

Leave a comment

Now, I really want a dog. Evelina is less interested. They are apparently messy creatures that have a lot of hair which often tends to shed periodically. They’re also cute bundles of joy, so how can one resist?
.
When I wrote my list of 25 before 25 I imagined my future self to have a lot more time than I do now. A dog requires a lot of time and affection. Especially in Sweden where your dog cannot be left home alone for more than 6 hours in a row. Maybe it’s four. Clearly I need to read up on this.
.
Well, Evelina and I have continued our hockey career. And essentially that means no time and extra affection for doggies. When I’m at work from 8-5 and then go immediately to the rink until 9 or 10pm that poor pup would be home alone for 12/13+ hours. There is, of course, doggy day care, but I don’t get paid enough at my human day care to pay for that. For the moment at least.
.
Our friend Emma was kind enough to get us a dog for Christmas though! It is quite clear that I want a French Bulldog, or French/English Bulldog mix. Emma, being the lovely and considerate friend she is, found just the dog for us.
.
woof
.
I’m still hoping for a louder puppy, sometime in the future, when there is more free time. I’m sure the time in my life full of ample free time is right around the corner. I can feel it.
.
signature
Leave a Reply

