Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

book of february: franny and zooey

3 Comments

The only other Salinger I’d read before this was assigned by my 9th grade English teacher. We read The Catcher in the Rye. The most vivid thing I remember from that book was a description of Holdon’s friend’s teeth. It was a grotesque image that has stayed with me to this day. That’s not what I’m here to discuss today. Today we’re looking at Franny and Zooey.

Franny & Zooey

I knew literally nothing about this book before reading it. If you know literally nothing about this book I have some news for you. If you think Franny and Zooey might be a tantalizing romance between two women, you would be mistaken. If you then go on to ponder that Franny and Zooey might be a romance between a man named Franny and a woman named Zooey (as one may assume, now knowing that it is not two women), you would again be incorrect. If you then go so far as to venture that Franny is a female character (as was inferred from the beginning) but even that Zooey was a male character, then I congratulate you. You are correct. I also have a question for you: How on Earth could you come to guess that Zooey is a male’s name?! In my world it simly isn’t so.

Wasn’t so. After reading the book, Zooey will forever be categorized as the name of moody, somewhat dark, intelligent young men. I think that moody, intelligent and somewhat dark is actually a good description of the book as a whole. So if you’re in the mood for something moody (I couldn’t resist) then this is my recommendation for you.

signature

3 thoughts on “book of february: franny and zooey

  1. Pingback: eightteen. read a book a month | Enjoy Not Knowing

  2. Pingback: eleven. read five books on francine prose’s “books to be read immediately” list | Enjoy Not Knowing

  3. Pingback: a resolutions update | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

