Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

my “new” job

5 Comments

I have officially worked at my place of employment for over a year. A while ago, I told you I had gotten a new job, and had you guess about what it could be.

Here’s the big reveal: I’m a pre-school teacher.

The anticipation must have been eating away at you. After having worked at my new job for a little over a year and a half I have realized a few things.

  1. Small children are both wonderful and terrible. (Lucky for us, usually the former.)
  2. Working with children may be the most rewarding thing I have ever done.
  3. Sweden rocks

.

Let me explain this last point. First by taking you back to the very beginning. It’s a very good place to start. The beginning of this story starts in July of 2012. I had worked my final weeks at REC, you all remember good ‘ol REC, and the many shenanigans I got in to there. Well I had nostalgically worked my final weeks there (something about knowing you’re leaving to never return makes everything a little nostalgic – and funny – oh how we laughed!) and had moved up north. Not too far mind you, I do have some sense left in me. As mentioned, it was July of 2013, a beautiful Swedish summer, and I was getting paid to do absolutely nothing. (Reason 1 why Sweden rocks.) I had amassed enough vacation days while working at REC to pay for my entire summer vacation. I had 5 weeks off in a row, and my bank account did not suffer for it. I even went on an actual vacation to scare the socks off my Mom for her birthday.

This, people, is why Sweden rocks. 5 weeks of paid vacation!? I can’t even believe it’s true, and I’ve lived it. Another great thing about where I work is it is relatively easy to get time off. When Tyler graduated high school, and friends get married, it’s just a matter of giving them fair warning in advance that one would like to galavant across the ocean, and it’s done. I am exasperately grateful for this.

5 weeks, people

This is what 5 weeks looks like on a calendar. I felt this was necessary.

Reminiscing on that great summer of love does make me a little sad though. It is highly unlikely I will again take 5 weeks in a row of vacation. 5 weeks is a long time, a person can get a lot of relaxing done in that time. I’m gonna miss that.

Now you know that I like travelling across the Atlantic when I get vacation time. What about you, what do you like to do when you take time off? signature

5 thoughts on “my “new” job

  1. Pingback: things i’ve been up to | Enjoy Not Knowing

  2. Pingback: not dieting/starting again/stopping/then starting again | Enjoy Not Knowing

  3. Pingback: our nation’s capital | Enjoy Not Knowing

  4. Pingback: leap what? | Enjoy Not Knowing

  5. Pingback: book of april: godnatt, alfons åberg | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

