Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

hockey underway!

5 Comments

This hockey season is officially under way, with 21 ice practices and 2 scrimmages now under our collective belts it’s finally starting to sink in.

Time to break in the new skates, and dust off the old equipment.

new skates

Time to see just how far you’ve come over the summer.

iworkout

With the start of this season I was thinking back to last season. How much fun we had, and what a great season it was. I’m looking forward to a new season.

go team go!

My stroll down memory lane even took a stop around last January, mid season, to when my brother came to visit.

Christmas 2012

Ryan came for his first Swedish Christmas last year. He was here in Sweden over New Years as well (for the second New Years in a row). While he was visiting he joined the team on the ice a couple times. First for what I’ll call a family night on ice. I’m calling it that mostly because it sounds incredibly fun!! Which it was. The team invited friends and family to join us on the ice. We split into six teams and scrimmaged each other on three mini-rinks. It was a ton of fun, and I was ecstatic that a member of my family was actually able to be there. I am so glad Ryan skated with us that night; a memory I will cherish forever.

The second time Ryan joined the team on the ice was supposed to be a practice time. But turns out it was a goalie, Evelina, Ryan and I, and one other player. We spent the night skating around on the outdoor rink. It was a great evening where Ryan got to demonstrate more of his hockey skills, as we did a few drills and played around in the fresh, freezing, Swedish winter night.

hockey night

It’s easy to say I’m excited for the upcoming season. But I’m even more excited for nights like that. Unexpected memories. With friends and family. Ryan, consider this your official invitation to Sweden this winter.

signature

5 thoughts on “hockey underway!

  1. I love your blog. I always go to the site and click on the title so you get a hit. And I watch and listen to the ad – so you get credit for that too.

    hee hee

    I had not seen that picture of Ryan. wow, what fun. The dark doesn’t even seem to matter.

    I love you Meredith. I am glad you are so happy there.

    I love you.

    Love, ~Mum

  2. Pingback: lindsey visits | Enjoy Not Knowing

  3. Pingback: 2013-2014 hockey season | Enjoy Not Knowing

  4. Pingback: the new year’s tradition | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

