Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

semlor, and why i’ve been away

1 Comment

I realize I was somewhat MIA last week, and I would like to apologize for that. I would also like to explain. As you may know the 12th was Fat Tuesday, or Fettisdagen as we say in Sweden. OR Lincoln’s birthday as we say in history class.

.

photo 4 (1)

Your average semlor. Also the approximate number of semlor I ate.

Your average semlor. Also the approximate number of semlor I ate.

The story behind this holiday is a lot less important than the traditions. Which is to eat semlor. I ate my body weight in these floury, sugary, creamy treats. Which resulted in me falling into a food coma until right now.

You all surely understand.

.

.

Your local bakery, stocked up on semlor for semlor day!

Your local bakery, stocked up on semlor for semlor day!

While digesting all my semlor I did have to get to learn a little about why the Swede’s eat semlor on Fat Tuesday. I was slightly delirious from all the sugar, but I think the main thought behind it is that a long, long time ago rich people would eat things high in sugar and fat near the end of the winter. A time of the year where these things would otherwise be sparse. By otherwise I mean if you’re not rich. This tradition has carried on through Sweden’s loss of the upper class, and now EVERYONE gets fat on a Tuesday in February. Or at least I think that’s how it goes.

fancy semlor

fancy semlor

Don’t quote me on that.

signature

One thought on “semlor, and why i’ve been away

  1. Pingback: delayed gratification | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

