Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

thanksgiving like it was yesterday

7 Comments

Did I ever tell you about the time Evelina, Johanna and I cooked Thanksgiving dinner for 20 people? My was that an adventure!!

To be honest, it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. (Mind you I’m saying this now, about two months after the fact, I’m pretty sure at the time I was one stressed out little chipmunk!)

I was most nervous about the Turkey, capital T, and whether or not we had gotten enough to feed 20. Here, in The Cold White North, Turkeys are a little smaller. You just can’t find your 10-15 lb Turkey anywhere. So we got two smaller Turkeys, and crossed our fingers. (In Sweden they actually hold their thumbs instead of cross their fingers, as I’m sure you remember.)

let's eat

We also prepared a variety of other Thanksgivingy things so the Swedes could experience some American cooking. (Or what I told them was American cooking; at least an American cooked it.) Mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy and gourds lined the table. Not all the Swedes dared to try all the food, but they all said it was good! This may have been because written into the invitation I told them they must say the food was good. I kind of regret this now, because I’m not sure if they were just saying that it was good because they had to. I don’t regret it that much though because I heard what I wanted to hear.

peeps

I hope all of your Thanksgivings (two months ago) were also excellent.

signature

7 thoughts on “thanksgiving like it was yesterday

  1. Can you post a picture of you holding your thumbs? I’m not sure I’m imagining it the right way…

  2. Oh my goodness. I feel your pain. I lived in France for 3 years after college, and cooking a meal like those at home was next to impossible. I couldn’t find ketchup that wasn’t like tomato sauce. And loads of other things that I’ve forgotten now. I wound up eating at a creperie for Thanksgiving dinner once, and it was a hoot because we asked a guy who spoke English to come join us (he was sitting all alone) and it turned out that he was Native American. Everybody (including the guy) freaked out at how random and awesome it was.

    Anyway, happy belated Thanksgiving!

  3. I know I did not attend your Thanksgiving dinner (no hate on me now). My point is Turkey with a capital T can never be considered a gobble gobble flapping turkey no matter how Nervous with a capital N you were cooking it. Turkey, with T is a country. Rätta mig om jag har fel ;)

    • Yes, well the joke there is more about the importance/significance of the turkey we ate. As relates to (or doesn’t) the actual country of Turkey. Although things get less funny/humerus when you explain them. (Yes, I know I spelled humorous wrong…….)

      Unless you’re adding on to my joke in which case: OMG LOL ROTFL hahahahahha! Yes!

  4. Pingback: gobble gobble | Enjoy Not Knowing

  5. Pingback: one month ago today | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

