Enjoy Not Knowing

Just another American living in Sweden

book of june: the hunger games

1 Comment

read this.

I know I’m a little behind the eight ball here, but I have just read The Hunger Games. Consumed really. I read this book so quickly I’m lucky I can prevent my eyes from continuing to dart from left to right indefinitely. About half way through I tried to slow myself down. Take more breaks. Go to work. I wanted the book to last. Partially because I didn’t have in my hands the following two books in the trilogy, but also because I was enjoying it so much I didn’t want it to end. I found myself in the familiar position of desperately wanting to find out what happens, while simultaneously desiring to delay that discovery as long as possible.

It was an incredibly fun read. While Katie was visiting Sweden (Missed that post? Here it is!) we discussed going to see the movie. Despite the fact that she had seen it twice. Recently. When she discovered that I hadn’t yet read the book, I was berated.

I defended myself, “Well, I’ve never seen a movie before I’ve read the book. The book is always better, and will be regardless of when I see the movie. I’m a little curious as to what it would be like to see the movie before reading the book. ”

“Not with this book.”

And that was the end of that discussion.

To be fair, Katie had turned me on to the book about a year previously. Saying it was right up my ally, and definitely something I’d enjoy. I trust her taste in books, and more specifically her knowledge of my taste in books. However, I just never got around to reading The Hunger Games.

Now I understand the adamancy in Katie’s voice when she said “Not with this book.” I am glad I waited to see the movie. Although I haven’t yet seen it. I have been able to get my hands on the following two books, and consumed those just as quickly. It’s a trilogy I definitely recommend for a fun summer read. Possibly on a beach in Spain. Who knows.

One thought on “book of june: the hunger games

  1. Pingback: eightteen. read a book a month | Enjoy Not Knowing

Leave a Reply

